Parameters for image-map-2:{}
University of New Haven logo

Service-Learning Awards

Upcoming Student Award Opportunities:

Newman Civic Fellows Award

The nomination period is now open for the Campus Compact's Newman Civic Fellows Award, which recognizes community-involved student leaders. The Newman Civic Fellows Award honors the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact's founders and a tireless advocate for the civic engagement of higher education.  You can learn more about the 2013 Newman Civic Fellows here.

In the spirit of Dr. Newman's leadership, we are seeking nominations of undergraduate students who are proven leaders with both the motivation and ability to make substantial contributions toward public problem solving.  They will have also gone beyond traditional service activities in their community involvement.  Each president and chancellor can nominate one student to become a Newman Civic Fellow who will then represent your school in a national group of student leaders.  Students will receive an award certificate and an invitation to join the Newman Civic Fellows online network.  They will also be featured prominently on the Campus Compact national website and invited to participate in state-specific activities as appropriate.

The online nomination process is simple and the application can be found here.  Nominations will be accepted until March 6, 2014.

Upcoming Faculty Award Opportunities:

Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award

Campus Compact recognizes one senior faculty member each year with the Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award.  The Ehrlich Award is given for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students' civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education's contributions to the public good.

The online application will be available February 3, 2014 and will be due April 1, 2014.  The announcement of the 2014 Ehrlich Award winner will be made in early Fall 2014. 

The award winner is granted $2,000 and the opportunity to conduct a session at the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) Annual Conference. Up to four finalists are also featured in a panel presentation at the conference.