TOP

State Regulated Refund Policy for Distance Learning

University of New Haven abides by state and federal consumer protection laws.  In states that have a Consumer Right-of-Cancellation Law, the University honors the state laws as they apply to application fees and/or tuition.  

Maryland Refund Policy

University of New Haven complies fully with the refund policy for Maryland residents as mandated by Maryland law.

PARTIAL REFUND

A student who withdraws or is dismissed after the three-business-day cancellation period, but before completing 60% of the potential units of instruction in the current enrollment period, shall be entitled to a pro rata refund, as calculated below (less any amounts owed by student for the current enrollment period):

 

Proportion of Total Course, Program, or
Term Completed as of Date of
Withdrawal or Termination
Tuition Refund
Less  than 10% 90% Refund
10% up to but not including 20% 80% Refund
20% up to but not including 30% 60% Refund
30% up to but not including 40% 40% Refund
40% up to but not including 60% 20% Refund
60% or more No Refund

University of New Haven will issue refunds within 60 days of the effective date of termination.

 

Wisconsin Refund Policy 

REFUND AND WITHDRAWAL POLICY 

University of New Haven complies fully with the refund policy for Wisconsin residents as mandated by Wisconsin law. The student will receive a full refund of all money paid if the student cancels within the three business day cancellation period if the student accepted was unqualified and the school did not secure a disclaimer or if the school procured the student's enrollment as the result of false representations in the written materials used by the school or in oral representations made by or on behalf of the school. 

PARTIAL REFUND 

A student who withdraws or is dismissed after the three-business-day cancellation period, but before completing 60% of the potential units of instruction in the current enrollment period, shall be entitled to a pro rata refund, as calculated below (less any amounts owed by student for the current enrollment period):

 

Refund Amount From Day To Day Less Than % of Course Completion
100% -- 9 20%
70% 10 14 30%
60% 15 19 40%
50% 20 24 50%
40% 25 29 60%
0 30 49 100%

A written notice of withdrawal is not required.  University of New Haven shall honor any valid notice of withdrawal given after the 3-business-day cancellation period, and within 30 calendar days after dismissal of the student or receipt of notice of withdrawal.

No refund is required for any student who withdraws or is dismissed after completing 60% of the potential units of instruction in the current enrollment period unless a student withdraws due to mitigating circumstances, which are those that directly prohibit pursuit of a program and which are beyond the student’s control.

University of New Haven shall issue refunds within 40 days of the effective date of termination.