Parameters for image-map-2:{}
University of New Haven logo

Student Resources in the Henry C. Lee College

Career Information

It is not easy to decide upon a career. Sometimes the more we know about a topic the less appealing it looks. Also, many careers appear more ominous than they really are, simply because the years of education seem excessive. Friends and family may not understand, nor agree! 'What if I make a mistake' and 'I'm the first one in my family to become one!!!' These were familiar unbidden thoughts for many of us when we were young. Just ignore them. Most of us would go nowhere if we listened to these fears.

Keep reading anything you can get your hands on and talk to people you respect. Talk to real people 'on the job' and shoot high. Too many good people end up unhappy later in life because they felt unworthy to go after what they really wanted. Make a list of everything you love to do. Keep adding to the list over several weeks or months. After a while you will notice a pattern developing. Keep looking at your list (with your third eye). After a while, ask yourself "How can I get paid to do this ?"

It really works if you do!

Relevant Websites:

Vocational Testing Site: http://www.kuder.com/
See demo: http://www.careerway.com/
Career Links: http://www.telecomcareers.net/
Career Links: www.acinet.org/
Federal Job Links: https://www.usajobs.gov/
Interesting Career Bookstore: www.careerbookstore.com/
James J. Monahan's second almamater: http://www.career.fsu.edu/
Another Federal Link: http://federaljobs.net/
General Career Link: http://www.quintcareers.com/
General Job Links: www.freeality.com/jobs
National Criminal Justice Site: http://www.ncjrs.gov/
Police/Fire Job Site: http://www.911hotjobs.com/
Police Career Site: http://www.policecareer.com/
Online training/referral in Public Safety: http://www.hits.astcorp.com/
Jobs and Careers in Police: http://www.copcareer.com/
Jobs and Careers in Police: http://www.lawenforcementjobs.com/
Live Police/Fire Radio: http://www.radioreference.com/apps/audio/ 
Job Recruiting: http://usa.recruit.net
General Career Link: http://careerlink.com/
Police Related: http://www.thepoliceexecutive.com/
Police Related: http://www.policeone.com/
US Customs Site: http://www.cbp.gov/
Forensic Psychology: http://www.psywww.com/careers/
How to find anyone: https://www.intelius.com/
Federal Bureau of Investigation: http://www.fbi.gov/
US Coast Guard: http://www.uscg.mil/
US Marine Corps: http://www.usmc.mil/
US Air Force: http://www.airforce.com/
US Army: http://www.army.mil/
US Navy: www.navy.mil/
Central Intelligence Agency: http://www.cia.gov/
National Security Agency: http://www.nsa.gov/
US Secret Service: http://www.secretservice.gov/
US Postal Inspectors: www.usps.com/postalinspectors/
US Office of Peronnel and Management: http://www.opm.gov/
US Peace Corps: http://www.peacecorps.gov/
American Bar Association: http://www.abanet.org/
American Psychological Assn: http://www.apa.org/
US Immigration and Naturalisation Border Patrol: http://www.uscis.gov/
American Academy of Forensic Sciences: http://www.aafs.org/
Fire Science and Technology: http://www.doctorfire.com/
American Medical Association: http://www.ama-assn.org/
United Nations Educational and Scientific: www.unesco.org/
Texas Rangers: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/
American Association for Paralegal Education Website: http://www.aafpe.org/
Association for Conflict Resolution Website: http://www.acrnet.org/