Office of Residential Life Staff

The Residential Life team is comprised of professional and student staff members who live on campus and care deeply about serving our students with excellence! Once living on campus, it is best for students and families to contact their specific building supervisor listed below.

  • Resident Assistant

    Each residence hall floor/wing has a resident assistant (RA) who directly interacts with the students and assists them with any issues they may have. Resident Advisors (RAs) are full-time students who are selected and trained to help create an atmosphere conducive to growth and development. They serve as group facilitators, referral agents, and activity advisors. They also assist students with personal, academic, and social concerns. Resident Advisors are available to help students adjust to life in on-campus housing and at the University. Every student has an assigned RA, but residents are free to seek aid or counsel from any RA. RAs are on-call starting at 8:00 p.m. nightly to support their residents in responding to time-sensitive concerns.

  • Area Coordinator/Community Director/Residence Director

    Each residence hall has a staff member who oversees the hall and supervises the resident assistant staff in that area. They are responsible for all of the students in that hall as well as managing the facilities. The Area Coordinator and Community Director are full-time master or bachelor level staff who live in their respective hall. This is the first point of contact for families that have questions related to their students living experience. For emergency concerns, 24/7, parents and supporters are urged to contact the University Police Department directly for the most prompt response.

First Year Halls Live-In Staff

Martine Bernadel

Martine Bernadel

Community Director
Bethel Hall


(203) 932-1059
MBernadel@newhaven.edu

Wendy Johns

Area Coordinator
Westside Hall

Westside Hall 123
(203) 932-4568
WJohns@newhaven.edu

Alex Lewis

Alex Lewis

Area Coordinator
Bixler Hall

Bixler Hall 103
(203) 932-1056
AILewis@newhaven.edu

Aliyah S. Phipps

Aliyah S. Phipps

Community Director
Gerber Hall

Gerber Hall 103
(203) 932-1057
APhipps@newhaven.edu

 

Upper-Division Halls Live-In Staff

Themba Banda

Residence Director
Dunham Hall

Westside Hall 122
(203) 932-1153
RDDunham@newhaven.edu

Marcus D'Iorio

Area Coordinator
Forest Hills

Forest Hills 3A7
203-479-4241
MDIorio@newhaven.edu

Nora Augustine

Residence Director
Sheffield Hall

Sheffield Hall 103
(203) 932-1042
RDSheffield@newhaven.edu

Jhinelle Dawson

Jhinelle Dawson

Community Director
Winchester Hall

Winchester Hall 116
(203) 932-1047
JDawson@newhaven.edu

Micah Martin-Parchment

Residence Director
University Commons (Atwood & Park View)

Atwood 104
(203) 932-7104
RDUniversityCommons@newhaven.edu

Mohammed Anas Ali

Mohammed Anas Ali

Residence Director
University Sponsored Housing (Savin Court & Main Street Condos)

Savin Court 14
(203) 932-1153
RDSavMain@newhaven.edu

Leadership & Central Office Staff

Curtis Clark, Ed.D.

Curtis Clark, Ed.D.

Director of Campus Life & Student Support
Residential Life Central Office

Bixler Hall 112A
(203) 932-7076
CClark@newhaven.edu

Tammy Mulrooney

Tammy Mulrooney

Associate Director of Residential Operations
Residential Life Central Office

Bixler Hall 112A
(203) 932-7076
TMulrooney@newhaven.edu

Kaitlyn Burrus

Kaitlyn Burrus

Assistant Director of Residential Operations
Residential Life Central Office

Bixler Hall 112B
(203) 932-7076
KBurrus@newhaven.edu

William Frazier

William Frazier

Associate Director of Residential Education
Residential Life Central Office

Bixler Hall 116B
(203) 932-7076
WFrazier@newhaven.edu

Danielle Farrell

Danielle Farrell

Coordinator for Programming and Community Engagement
Residential Life Central Office

Bixler Hall 116A
(203) 479-4538
DFarrell@newhaven.edu

Jennifer Pilato

Jennifer Pilato

Administrative Coordinator
Residential Life Central Office

Bixler Hall Front Office
(203) 932-7076
JPilato@newhaven.edu

Riley Schmidt

Graduate Assistant for Residential Operations
Residential Life Central Office

Bixler Hall Front Office
(203) 932-7076
ResOps@newhaven.edu

Janyce Toth

Graduate Assistant for Residential Education
Residential Life Central Office

Bixler Hall Front Office
(203) 932-7076
ResEd@newhaven.edu